“A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than 100 miles per hour is guilty of an infraction” [California Vehicle Code section 22348(b)]. This traffic citation is one of the most harshly punished traffic infractions. During the COVID pandemic, CHP Officers wrote over 6,000 of these citations, according to CBS8 and the LA Times. Although this violation is only an infraction, the fines, license suspensions, and point counts that come with a conviction can be the same or higher than a DUI or reckless driving charge.
- 1st-time conviction comes with a minimum fine of $900 but can have a maximum of $2130.
- 2nd-time conviction can have a maximum fine of $3165.
- 3rd-time conviction can have a maximum fine of $4190.
To put these fines into perspective, the average penalty for reckless driving is around $900, and the ordinary punishment for a DUI is about $2100.
- 1st-time conviction can be up to a 30-day license suspension.
- 2nd-time conviction can be up to a 6-month license suspension.
- 3rd-time conviction can be up t a 1-year license suspension.
Keeping a valid license is essential in California, really the US. On a first-time conviction, the Court can suspend your driving privileges for up to 30 days, which is similar to the mandatory minimum suspension for a first time DUI.
DMV Point Count
· 2 Points on your driving record for 7 years
Most traffic infractions only carry 1 point, which generally drops off your driving record in 3 years. When convicted for driving over 100 mph, the California DMV will assess 2 points onto your driving record, which will remain on your record for 7 years. The same points are added for violations of a DUI, reckless driving, or driving on a suspended license.
Is Going Over 100 MPH a Felony?
In California, speeding alone cannot be a felony offense. Speeding will only lead to felony charges if the speeding contributed to another person suffering serious injuries or fatalities. In most cases, the driver will instead be charged with street racing or reckless driving.
If you are charged with 22348(b) - Exceeding 100 miles per hour, it helps to have someone with experience on your side. Don’t be unprepared and blindsided going into Court. If you think you can get traffic school and pay a fee, think again. These cases have serious consequences that can affect your driving record and your insurance rates for up to seven years. We are here to help contact us now at RPM Law. We have experience in helping thousands of people protect their driving records every day.